Sustained Pause / by Jaclyn Brown


Sustained Pause is a group exhibition presenting the work of twelve photographers, all from the 2018 graduating class of the International Low Residency MFA in Photography at the Hartford Art School. This exhibition is on view August 6-11, 2018, with a public reception on Friday, August 10, 7 - 9 p.m.. Gallery hours are 11 a.m. - 5 p.m. daily.

The show will feature an array of portraiture which speaks to aging, trauma and interpersonal relationships, as well as pieces about our fraught relationship with the natural world.

About the International Low Residency MFA in Photography:
The program was founded at the Hartford Art School in 2010 as the first graduate art program focused on the intersection of art, documentary practice, and the photo-based book. The faculty includes Director Robert Lyons, Jorg Colberg, Mary Frey, Alice Rose George, Alec Soth and Michael Vahrenwald. Notable guest artists and critics have included Dru Donovan, Felix Hoffman, Lisa Kereszi, Hiroh Kikai, Wiebke Loeper, Ute Mahler, Tod Papageorge, John Priola, Michael Schaefer, Paul Schiek, Mark Steinmetz, Hannes Wanderer, and Thomas Weski.

Photography in the exhibition was created by the following MFA candidates:

Victor Alcantara • Jaclyn Brown • Mat Brutger • Paul Cohen • Alan Huck • Molly Peters • Stuart Richardson • Rick Schatzberg • Marshall Scheuttle • Ernesto Solana • Antonis Theodoridis • Alex Christopher Williams